Still with training wheels…

Goodnight Irene.
I probably won’t see you in my dreams
unless you are the cow on the landing
in which case I will pat your ample
black and white worldmap flanks
and urge you carefully down the stairs.
I’m unlikely to see you
unless you are disseminated into a flock
of parakeets…
if that’s the case follow me
and I’ll lead you to the square of sky
above the shower
and you can make good your escape.
Otherwise leave me be.

About Jan Dean

Poet-in-schools
This entry was posted in A poem a day for April. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

