Poem A Day for a Month # 4

Colonoscopy.
I’ve breathed through birth
so I can breathe through this…
only now I am the one curled like a fist
and my breath shunts
in time with the clench of my hand
round the hand of the nurse.
Re-lax.
Outbreath.
Let go.
On the screen inner tubes
smoothpink and wet as gums…
Then, like clag in pipes
that cauliflower mass
pressed concave –
the lining of the colon
grown florid, curlicued, baroque.
No swan-necked polyps
easy for the snip
just this integral abundance.
Ten days later nil by mouth
my friend sends me a card –
Dig For Victory.

About Jan Dean

Poet-in-schools
This entry was posted in A poem a day for April. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem A Day for a Month # 4

  1. Andy says:

    Interesting ending. Great job!!

Leave a Reply

