What to do when everything tastes of stupid.

all the soup in this place    ………..is vaguely tan no matter what they call it   ………it tastes of swede stretched overheads?         …………a cook who can’t? I give it a wide berth            ………. but now discover the shepherd’s pie is flooded with it the fruit salad’s                     ………..full  of melon the wrong shade of orange rank with ghosts                  ……….. of winter fields drab clay                                ………..and  dreary sheep grazing fodder beet from sticky ground I stand up suddenly             ………..screech my chair                                ……….. along the wood block floor I’m never coming here again a shock of feathers from my feet               dance a bolt of music in my ribs                            sing I am giving up tan                ………..giving up grey by more than a sidestep this place that smells of swede            ………..right down to its Victoria sponge has seen the last of me ………………………………………………I’m out of here Jan Dean

About Jan Dean

Poet-in-schools
This entry was posted in A poem a day for April and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do when everything tastes of stupid.

  1. suepoemcat says:

    Love this, it reminds me of the film Cabbage wars.

  2. Jan Dean says:

    The layout has rearranged itself – but I quite like it. Suits the rant.

Leave a Reply

