Mr Brough   

brisk                sharp
has been elbow deep in me
I imagine my intestines          lilac blue
and steaming gently in the unexpected air

unravelled they can stretch
the whole way round a tennis court
they told us that in school
I never thought I’d put it to the test

the bowel reacts to being handled
can be skittish might flounce
peristalsis – that squeeze that starts as swallowing
then ripples sweet and regular right through –

must settle down into its proper rhythm
meanwhile strange surges flutter
as if a trout is netted in my belly
and now it flexes slippery and strong

I think of Mr Brough
and riverbanks
of skill honed by practice
the sly gutting of a fish

 

Jan Dean

 

About Jan Dean

Poet-in-schools
This entry was posted in A poem a day for April. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mr Brough   

  1. suepoemcat says:

    Oh Jan, vividly poignant and takes your breath x

Leave a Reply

